Upcoming Events

Our Parents Say…

I would recommend Happy Stars in a heartbeat to everyone, fantastic team — - Ms Angelides – 2014

Learning and Development

In September 2012, a new curriculum was introduced into nursery settings. This curriculum has a strong emphasis on ensuring all children have the best possible start in life and that they are able to develop to their  full potential.

The Early Year Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for all early years provisions to follow, in order to meet children s’ learning and development, as well as keeping them  healthy and safe.

The EYFS seeks to provide:

 Quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind;

 A secure foundation through learning and development opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly;

Partnership working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers;

Equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.  DFE 2012 

There are seven areas of learning and development that is followed in Happy Stars. These seven areas of learning and development are important and are inter – connected.

The first three areas is known as the  Prime areas, these  areas  is classified as the most crucial part for igniting children s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning.

Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, social and emotional development involves helping
children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form
positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

There are then four specific areas which are mainly developed after the three prime areas are developed.

Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds
and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop
and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers,
calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of
their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and
play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing
opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and
feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, roleplay, and design and technology.

Further information can be find on the following link http://www.foundationyears.org.uk/early-years-foundation-stage-2012/  and click on the EYFS for Parents.